The Russian Mafia 

So…yesterday day morning I was talking with my fiance and he asked me if I thought it would be difficult to make Italian Ice?  I immediately did  Google search for Lemon Italian Ice Recipes; as lemon is my favorite flavor, and also, we had fresh lemons on hand.  I picked the first one I saw and looked in the test kitchen to make sure I had all the ingredients on hand…I did!

So, I got Tim, my fiance, in the test kitchen with me (after all this was his idea), and we started slicing lemons and juicing them.  After all 8 lemons were sliced and squeezed to death, we pulled out the Salad Shooter and started making lemon zest from the peels.  I then started on making the Lemon Italian Ice.

As we were working away in the test kitchen, Tim says to me, “Wouldn’t this be great as a frozen drink with vodka?”  Of course I said, “Hell Yah!”.  After all, vodka is my favorite hard liquor.  So while we were out shopping on Saturday,  we picked up some vodka, and then waited for the Italian Ice to be ready.

So tonight after dinner, we got busy and made up our very first drink concoction; which I will share with you now….

The Russian  Mafia 

16 oz. Lemon Italian Ice

4 or 5 Shots of Vodka

3 to 4 Ice Cubes

Put everything in the blender and blend on high until it the ice is chopped up and the liquid becomes frothy.

Pour into a 8 oz glass and top with whipped cream.

Sip and Enjoy.
Lemon Italian Ice 

3 Cups Water

1 Cup Sugar

1 Pinch of Salt (1/16 tsp.)

1 Cup Fresh Lemon  Juice (juice of about 6 medium lemons)

1 1/2 tsp. Finely Grated Lemon       Rind (about the peel from 1 medium lemon)

2 tsp. Lemon Extract 

Combine 2 cups of water with the sugar in a medium nonreactive saucepan; bring to a simmer over medium heat.

Cook, stirring constantly, until the sugar is completely dissolved.

Add the salt, stir, and remove the pan from the heat.

Stir in the remaining water and let cool to room temperature.

Cover and refrigerate for a minimum of 1 hour.

Meanwhile, place a shallow metal 3 1\2 quart container (such as a large cake pan) in the freezer to chill.

Add the lemon juice, lemon peel, and extract to the chilled sugar mixture; stir until well blended.

Pour into the chilled metal pan.

Place the pan in the freezer for 30-60 minutes, or until ice crystals form around the edges.

Stir the ice crystals into the center of the pan and return to the freezer.

Repeat every 30 minutes, or until all the liquid is crystallized but not frozen solid, about 3 hours.

To serve, scoop the granite into chilled dessert bowls or goblets.

Source: Food.com

Note: I was sipping on one of the Russian Mafias while typing this up.  So if you come across any errors in this post, please let me know.  Thank you, and enjoy.  <|:,)

Leave a Reply

